Gena Rowlands Biography, Age, Movies, Death and Husband

Last Updated on 2 months by Kev

Gena Rowlands Biography

Gena Rowlands born Virginia Cathryn  is an American actress, whose career in film, stage, and television has spanned over six decades. Gena is a four-time Emmy and two-time Golden Globe winner.  She is best known for her collaborations with her late actor-director husband John Cassavetes in ten films, including A Woman Under the Influence (1974) and Gloria (1980), which earned her nominations for the Academy Award for Best Actress.

Gena Rowlands
Gena Rowlands

Gena also won the Silver Bear for Best Actress for Opening Night (1977). She  received an Honorary Academy Award in recognition of her unique screen performances in November 2015 .

Gena Rowlands Age | How Old Is Gena Rowlands

Gena was born on June 19, 1930 in Madison, Wisconsin. She is 89 years old as of 2019.

Gena Rowlands Family

Gena was born n Madison, Wisconsin. She is a daughter to Mary Allen (Neal) who was a housewife and later worked as an actress under the stage name Lady Rowlands and Edwin Myrwyn Rowlands who was a banker and state legislator. Gena was a member of the Wisconsin Progressive Party, and was of Welsh descent. Gena had a brother named David Rowlands.

In 1939 her family moved to Washington, D.C., when Edwin was appointed to a position in the United States Department of Agriculture. He then moved to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in 1942, when he was appointed as branch manager of the Office of Price Administration and later moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Gena Rowlands Education | Gena Rowlands Young

Gena attended the University of Wisconsin from 1947–50 where she was a popular student already renowned for her beauty.  In college Gena was a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma.  Gena left for New York City to study drama at the American Academy of Dramatic Arts.

Gena Rowlands Husband | John Cassavetes And Gena Rowlands

Gena from April 9, 1954 was married to John Cassavetes,  until his death on February 3, 1989. The two met at the American Academy at Carnegie Hall where they were both students. The couple had three children, all actor-directors: Nick, Alexandra, and Zoe. In 2012 she married Robert Forrest a  retired businessman.

Gena has stated that she was a big fan of actress Bette Davis while growing up. She played Davis’s daughter in Strangers.

Gena Rowlands photos

Gena Rowlands Death | Is Gena Rowlands Still Alive

Gena is still alive and healthy. She starred in the film adaptation of Six Dance Lessons in Six Weeks in 2014.
Gena received an Honorary Academy Award at the 2015 Governors Awards.

Gena Rowlands Movies | Gena Rowlands Films

Movies From Year 2001 to 2014

2014 – Six Dance Lessons in Six Weeks as Lily Harrison
2013 – Parts Per Billion as Esther
2012 -Yellow as Mimi
2011 – Olive as Tess M Powell
2010 – NCIS as Joann Fielding
2009 – Monk as Marge Johnson
2007 – Broken English as Vivien Wilder-Mann
2007 – Persepolis as Marjane’s grandmother
2007 – What If God Were the Sun? as Melissa Eisenbloom
2006 – Paris, je t’aime as Gena
2005 – The Skeleton Key as Violet Devereaux
2004 – The Incredible Mrs. Ritchie as Evelyn Ritchie
2004 – Taking Lives as Mrs. Asher
2004 – The Notebook as Old Allie Calhoun
2003 – Broadway: The Golden Age, by the Legends Who Were There as Herself
2003 – Hysterical Blindness as Virginia Miller
2002 – Charms for the Easy Life as Ms. Charlie Kate
2001 – Wild Iris as Minnie Brinn

Movies From Year 1991 to 2000

2000 – Light Keeps Me Company – Herself – interviewee
2000 – The Color of Love: Jacey’s Story as Georgia Porter
1999 – The Weekend as Laura Ponti
1998 – Paulie as Ivy
1998 – Hope Floats as Ramona Calvert
1998 – The Mighty as Gram
1998 – Playing by Heart as Hannah
1997 – She’s So Lovely as Miss Jane Green
1996 – Unhook the Stars as Mildred ‘Millie’ Hawks
1995 – Something to Talk About as Georgia King
1995 – The Neon Bible as Mae Morgan
1994 – Parallel Lives as Francie Pomerantz
1993 – Silent Cries as Peggy Sutherland
1993 – Anything for John – Herself
1992 – Crazy in Love as Honora Swift
1991 – Once Around as Marilyn Bella
1991 – Night on Earth as Victoria Snelling
1991 – Ted & Venus as Mrs. Turner
1991 – Face of a Stranger as Pat Foster

Movies From Year 1980 to 1990

1990 – Montana as Bess Guthrie
1990 – Hollywood Mavericks – Herself
1989 – I’m Almost Not Crazy: John Cassavetes, the Man and His Work – Herself
1988 – Another Woman as Marion Post
1987 – Light of Day as Jeanette Rasnick
1987 – The Betty Ford Story as Betty Ford
1985 – An Early Frost as Katherine Pierson
1984 – Love Streams as Sarah Lawson
1983 – Thursday’s Child as Victoria Alden
1982 – Tempest as Antonia Dimitrius
1982 – Faerie Tale Theatre as The Witch
1980 – Gloria as Gloria Swenson

Movies From Year 1958 to 1979

1979 – Strangers: The Story of a Mother and Daughter as Abigail Mason
1978 – The Brink’s Job Mary Pino
1978 – A Question of Love as Linda Ray Guettner
1977 – Opening Night as Myrtle Gordon
1976 – Two-Minut Warning as Janet
1975 – Columbo: Playback as Elizabeth Van Wick
1974 – A Woman Under the Influence as Mabel Longhetti
1971 – Minnie and Moskowitz as Minnie Moore
1969 – Machine Gun McCain as Rosemary Scott
1968 – Faces as Jeannie Rapp
1967 – Tony Rome as Rita Kosterman
1963 – A Child Is Waiting as Sophie Widdicombe Benham
1962 – Lonely Are the Brave as Jerry Bondi
1962 – The Spiral Road as Els
1960 – Alfred Hitchcock Presents as Lucille
1959 – Shadows as Woman in Nightclub Audience
1959 – Laramie – The Run to Tumavaca as Laurel DeWalt
1958 – The High Cost of Loving as Jenny Fry

Gena Rowlands Net Worth

Gena has an estimated net worth of $10 million.

Gena Rowlands Awards

Gena has been nominated for two Academy Awards, eight Primetime Emmy Awards, one Daytime Emmy Award, eight Golden Globe Awards, three Satellite Awards, and two SAG Awards. Few of her notable wins are a Silver Bear for Best Actress, three Primetime Emmy Awards and one Daytime Emmy Award, two Golden Globe Awards, two National Board of Review Awards, and two Satellite Awards.

Gena was presented with a lifetime achievement award by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association in January 2015 . She received an Honorary Academy Award at the 2015 Governors Awards. She was described by The press release as “an original talent” whose “devotion to her craft has earned her worldwide recognition as an independent film icon”.

Gena Rowlands The Notebook | Actress Gena Rowlands

The Notebook is a 2004 romantic drama film directed by Gena’s son Nick Cassavetes and written by Jeremy Leven from an adaptation by Jan Sardi.  It is based on Nicholas Sparks’s 1996 novel of the same name.  The film stars Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams as a young couple who fall in love in the 1940s. Their story is narrated from the present day by an elderly man (portrayed by James Garner) telling the tale to a fellow nursing home resident (played by Gena Rowlands, who is Cassavetes’s mother).

James Garner Gena Rowlands

Garner starred as the older version of Ryan Gosling’s character in the film version of Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook in 2004, alongside Gena as his wife. It was directed by Nick Cassavetes,  Gena’s  son. The Screen Actors Guild nominated Garner as best actor for “Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role

Gena Rowlands Gloria

Gloria is a thriller crime drama film written and directed by John Cassavetes. It is based on the story of a gangster’s girlfriend who goes on the run with a young boy who is being hunted by the mob for information he may or may not have. It stars Gena Rowlands along side Julie Carmen, Buck Henry, and John Adames.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *